Finding time for the FLOW

DSC_2074.jpg
MBFitzmahan. Shadow Dance. 2011. Tallinn, Estonia.

Is there anything that you love doing so much that while you are doing it, time passes without you even noticing? 

I love being with my daughters. And my Donny. I also love reading a great mystery novel or seeing a good Star Wars movie. I love a piece of watermelon, still warm from the summer fields.

These are incredible parcels in time.  They are gifts. For putting in a box, tying it up with a red satin ribbon, and saving for a day when it is raining and there is only bad news on the Internet.

DSC_0540_2-Edit.jpg
MBFitzmahan. Beauty. 2008. Venice, Italy

There are other times, however, when I feel the FLOW, when I feel like my Muse is visiting me.  This is when I am creating.  Writing a blog, playing the guitar, making sushi like Jiro of Jiro Dreams of Sushi. “You must fall in love with your work.”

For me, the get lost in timeless-ness moments, are when I am working in photography, writing, studying kanji, or translating haiku.

DSCF9206-Edit-2.jpg
MBFitzmahan. Critique. 2017. Berkeley, California

And I do these things for free.

There is freedom in doing what you love for free. 

One thought on “Finding time for the FLOW

Leave a Reply

