Photography is a solo sport

Takayama -tree.jpg
mbfitzmahan. Takayama. 2013.

My photography is best when my photos introduce you to me.  In my photography you can find seven decades of this artist.  Not only what I did, but what I value.

There are many photographers that have mentored me.  I have been inspired by their photos, their skills, their aesthetics, their teachings.  Henri Cartier-Bresson, Ruth Bernhard, Édouard Boubat, Niki Boon, Ansel Adams, Margaret Bourke-White, Mariana YampolskyEric Kim.

DSCF5217-2-Edit.jpg
mbfitzmahan. Noren hanging. 2016.

Art is a solo sport.

Make your photos be you. This is what will make your photography completely unique. No one else is even close to being YOU.  Incomparable. You are not in competition with anyone else.

DSC_0844.jpg
mbfitzmahan. Lovers in Rome. 2007.

Now comes the hard part.  Who are you?

Make a list. What do you like to study? What do you like to do? Who and what do you love?

DSC_5175 - Version 4-Edit.jpg
mbfitzmahan. Tempo. 2015.

For me,

  • I am deeply touched by Japanese aesthetics.
    • simplicity
    • empty space, irregularity
    • nature
    • aging, the imperfect
  • I love Japanese kanji and calligraphy.
  • I like to translate and study haiku.
  • I am drawn to the study of Zen Buddhism.
  • I am interested in philosophy.
  • I like learning about the universe, the stars, and the constellations.
  • I like mathematics.
  • I am fascinated by history.
  • I like to travel.
  • I like to have conversations with strangers.
  • I like stories, and sussing out the secrets that people like to share.
  • I like cultures different from my own.
  • I like the aesthetic of black and white photography.
  • I like the beauty of older people, and children.
  • I love and am fascinated by my daughters, my grandsons, and my husband.
  • I like to write.
3 thoughts on “Photography is a solo sport

  1. Once again, your photo has me in wonder. While I normally marvel at the sharp focus of your photos and the intricate details of your subjects, your first photo in this post, Takayama 2013, offers a misty puzzle of faint images that set my mind free to create it’s own picture. So, I wonder…. My mind sees a temple in the distant background – It is really there? Then, there seems to be a bird in the upper right. Or, is it a flag? Real or imagined? (or both?) Finally, I see a geisha, standing between the temple and the branches, with her hair in a bun on top of her head. Is she actually there? And what about her right eye? Or is that the branch? So many things to wonder about. There goes the afternoon.

    1. Don’s comments, as well as your photos, are so thought provoking. Now I’ll have to go back and see if I see what Don sees!

Leave a Reply

